In the 1950s a number of intellectuals took up residence in Sant Carles, which has inherited an intense cultural activity.
While small, San Carles is home to beautiful casas de payés (traditional island homes), a whitewashed church built in 1785, a unique bell tower and the remains of a Roman oil mill. The restaurant Can’Aneta is the perfect place to try traditional Ibizan herb liquor.
Santa Eulària des Riu
Santa Eulària is the second-largest city on the island after the main city of Evissa. The city is crowned by Puig de Missa, with its fortified church, cemetery and whitewashed houses. With its numerous businesses and services, its boardwalk and its marina, Santa Eulària is busy year-round.
The most legendary fine sand beaches in Santa Eulàría are: Es Figueral, Cala Boix, Cala Llenya, Cala Nova, Es Canar, Cala Martina, s’Argamassa, Cala Pada and Cala Llonga.
Santa Eulària also boasts idyllic fishermen’s’ coves like Pou d’es Lleó and Cala Mastella. Visit the Campanitx Tower, located between Pou d’es Lleó and Cala Boix, for a spectacular view of fields and the sea and Tagomago island.
Ibiza Dalt Vila
The best-preserved walled town in the Mediterranean is Ibiza’s Dalt Vila, declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1999 for the historical, cultural and architectural value of this coastal fortress, along with its winding streets and monuments like the Castle and Cathedral.
In this old town, which has been converted into an outdoor museum, visitors can find traces of all the civilizations that have passed through Ibiza, from the Phoenicians to the Carthaginians, Romans and Muslims to the Catalan conquest in the thirteenth century. The main entrance to the monumental old town is the Portal de Ses Taules drawbridge next to the Mercat Vell, although there are other equally beautiful entrances, including the Portal Nou next to the Reina Sofía park.
King Philip II decided to construct the wall, giving Eivissa a strategic role in his Mediterranean defence policy, ordering its construction to stop the constant attacks and pillaging from Barbary pirates. Italian engineer Giovanni Batista Calvi headed the ambitious project. Jacobo Paleazzo Fratín expanded the original plan and saw the project to its completion. Construction began in 1554 and is thought to have taken 31 years to complete.
Within the city walls you can visit the Cathedral, home to the Diocesan Museum, the Santo Domingo Church, the Chapel of San Ciriaco, the Town Hall, which hosts a range of exhibitions, concerts and cultural events throughout the year, and the Archaeological Museum, which houses an impressive collection of artefacts from the cultures that inhabited the island, from prehistory to the Islamic Middle Ages.